Hockey World Cup 2023: All You Need To Know

Image Credits:  FIH

The 15th edition of the FIH men's Hockey World Cup will begin on 13th January in the Indian state of Odisha.  Belgium, the defending champions, are everyone's favourite but they will face stiff competition here. 

Image Credit: @FIH

Kalinga Stadium in Bhubaneswar and Birsa Munda Hockey Stadium will share the burden of hosting all the matches of the tournament. The final will be staged in Bhubaneswar.

Image Credit: @FIH

Teams & FormatAs many as sixteen teams are pooled across four groups, and each team will play three matches. The top-two teams from each group will then qualify for the next stage of the tournament.

Image Credit:  @Pak Hockey

GroupsGroup A: Australia, Argentina, France, South AfricaGroup B: Belgium, Germany, South Korea, JapanGroup C: Netherlands, New Zealand, Malaysia, ChileGroup D: India, England, Spain, Wales

Image Credit: @FIH

What Are India's Chances?Expectations are high from the hosting nations, as they recently won the bronze medal in Tokyo Olympics. The only instance they won this title was way back in 1975. They are pooled in a relatively gentle group.

Image Credit: @Hockey India

Prize Money For Team IndiaIf India manage to win this World Cup at their own backyard, each player will get INR 25 Lakh. If they finish at second place, they'll get INR 15 lakh each.

Image Credit: @Hockey India

Where To Watch Hockey World CupThe entire tournament will be televised on Star Sports, and the online streaming will be available on Hotstar.

Thanks For Reading

5 Cricketers With Highest Yo-Yo Test Scores