Revisiting Every IPL Final Match
Revisiting Every IPL Final Match

Since the 2019 IPL final is just a week away, we go back in time and relive all the IPL finale matches

IPL is still raging on thanks to its massive fan following and entertaining matches. The finale of the 2019 IPL is closer than you think, so we decided to go back in time and relive all of the amazing finales this league has had. 




2008 was the year IPL first took place and the excitement for it was unreal. Naturally, being the winner of the first ever IPL season is a big achievement and from all the 8 teams, Rajasthan Royals were the ones to earn that title. They won the 2008 IPL final against the Chennai Super Kings at the DY Patil Stadium in Mumbai. Shane Watson was awarded the Player of the series that year. 






2009 was the year of the Deccan Chargers. Adam Gilchrist was a beast during this season. His performance won him the play of the series award and he helped the team lift the trophy that year. The Chargers played against the Royal Challengers Bangalore and won by 6 runs. 






2010 was the year Chennai Super Kings started their habit of winning the IPL. The team was playing against the Mumbai Indians at their home in DY Patil Stadium and won by 22 runs. The player of the series that year was none other than Sachin Tendulkar. 






The Chennai Super Kings won the 2011 IPL trophy right after they lifted the trophy the previous year.  Their win in 2010 was hard-earned, but the 2011 finale proved to be an easier job. They won the match against Royal Challengers Bangalore by 58 runs. 






Kolkata Knight Riders won their first IPL title in 2012. They took on the defending champions and crushed CSK’s dreams of scoring a hat-trick win at their home. KKR won by 5 wickets and Sunil Narine was named the player of the series.






Mumbai Indians earned their first IPL championship for the first time in four years. Once again, Mumbai Indians prevented CSK from picking up that IPL trophy for the third time. They won the match by 23 runs.






2014 was the year when the boys of KKR won their second IPL trophy. They took on the Kings XI Punjab, who made it to the finals for the first time, and defeated them with 3 wickets still remaining.






2015 also saw another team win the IPL final for the second time. This year, it was the Mumbai Indians who easily won the match by 42 runs against CSK.






Breaking the monotony of seeing familiar teams like MI, KKR and CSK win almost every IPL final match, the Sunrisers Hyderabad emerged victorious in 2016. They took on RCB and won the match by 8 runs.






The 2017 IPL final was an absolute nail-biter. Mumbai Indians went against the Rising Pune Supergiants and just managed to win the match by 1 run.






2018 saw the Chennai Super Kings win their third IPL title. The boys in yellow, led by MS Dhoni, earned an easy win over the Sunrisers Hyderabad at the Wankhede Stadium. 






We’re still yet to fill in this spot. We’ll know who wins the IPL championship in 2019 on May 12, 2019. 

contact us :
Follow US :
©2024 Creativeland Publishing Pvt. Ltd. All Rights Reserved