A List Of All The 49 Women Who've Won The Nobel Prize In 117 Years
A List Of All The 49 Women Who’ve Won The Nobel Prize In 117 Years

The Nobel Prize has been awarded to only 49 women . . . as compared to 844 men

Before we begin, it is imperative to note that in its 117-year history, the Nobel Prize has been awarded to only 49 women . . . as compared to 844 men.


While 16 women have been awarded the Nobel Peace Prize, 14 have won the Nobel Prize in Literature, followed by 12 who’ve won the award in Physiology or Medicine. One woman has won the Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences, five have won the Nobel for Chemistry and three have won in Physics.


Here’s a list of all the female Nobel Laureates:


Marie Skłodowska Curie for Physics


Bertha von Suttner for Peace


Selma Lagerlöf for Literature


Grazia Deledda for Literature


Sigrid Undset for Literature


Jane Addams for Peace


Irène Joliot-Curie for Chemistry


Pearl S. Buck for Literature


Gabriela Mistral for Literature


Emily Greene Balch for Peace


Gerty Theresa Cori for Physiology or Medicine


Maria Goeppert-Mayer for Physics


Dorothy Crowfoot Hodgkin for Chemistry


Nelly Sachs for Literature


Betty Williams for Peace


Mairead Maguire for Peace


Rosalyn Sussman Yalow for Physiology or Medicine


Mother Teresa for Peace


Alva Myrdal for Peace


Barbara McClintock for Physiology or Medicine


Rita Levi-Montalcini for Physiology or Medicine


Gertrude B. Elion for Physiology or Medicine


Nadine Gordimer for Literature


Aung San Suu Kyi for Peace


Rigoberta Menchú for Peace


Toni Morrison for Literature


Christiane Nüsslein-Volhard for Physiology or Medicine


Wisława Szymborska for Literature


Jody Williams for Peace


Shirin Ebadi for Peace


Elfriede Jelinek for Literature


Wangari Maathai for Peace


Linda B. Buck for Physiology or Medicine


Doris Lessing for Literature


Françoise Barré-Sinoussi for Physiology or Medicine


Elizabeth Blackburn for Physiology or Medicine


Carol W. Greider for Physiology or Medicine


Ada E. Yonath for Chemistry


Herta Müller for Literature


Elinor Ostrom for Economics


Ellen Johnson Sirleaf for Peace


Leymah Gbowee for Peace


Tawakel Karman for Peace


Alice Munro for Literature


May-Britt Moser for Physiology or Medicine


Malala Yousafzai for Peace


Tu Youyou for Physiology or Medicine


Svetlana Alexievich for Literature


Donna Strickland for Physics


Frances Arnold for Chemistry


Marie Curie was the first woman to win a Nobel Prize and also the only woman to have won it twice – in 1903 and in 1911.

contact us :
Follow US :
©2024 Creativeland Publishing Pvt. Ltd. All Rights Reserved